Sweet Potato Soup

Published February 5, 2011 by S

A friend recently told me they had found and enjoyed a recipe for Sweet Potato soup.  I kept meaning to ask my friend for this recipe, but I keep forgetting, so I once again paid a visit to my old friend, the Internet.

Here is the recipe I used.  It is from Canadian Living magazine, but I changed a couple of the ingredients for my own personal taste.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sweet Potato Soup

Ingredients:

2 sweet potatoes, (2-1/4 lb/1.125 kg)
1 tbsp(15 mL) vegetable oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp(15 mL) minced gingerroot, (or 1 tsp/5 mL ground ginger)
2  tsp(10 mL) mild curry paste
4 cups (1 L) vegetable stock or chicken stock

Preparation:

-Peel and cut sweet potatoes into 1/2-inch (1 cm) cubes; set aside.
-In large saucepan, heat oil over medium heat; cook onion, garlic, gingerroot and curry paste, stirring occasionally, for 3 minutes or until softened. Add sweet potatoes; stir for 1 minute or until coated.
-Add stock and bring to boil; reduce heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes or until potatoes are tender.
-With immersion blender or in blender, puree soup; reheat if necessary.

(Changes:  I did NOT use the garlic, I used the Vegetable stock instead of Chicken, and I added approx 1 1/2-2 tsp of cinnemon when I added the soup stock.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BON APPETIT!

Leave a Reply

