Stress

Published February 22, 2011 by S

So the last few days I have been dealing with a higher than normal amount of stress.  Don’t worry, noone is dying or getting divorced or anything, but there have been several things rolling in all at the same time causing stress. But out of respect for some of the people involved I won’t be going into detail on that.

Instead to help me try to focus on something else in an effort to relieve my current stress induced Headache, I’m going to write about Stress Busters.

For me, there are 4 ways that successfully help me with relieve Stress.

1) Sleep:  sleep has always been my friend.  Always there after a long day to cradle me in it’s warmth and cozy blankets, and more often then not an amusing (and usually very confusing!) dream.  I am the kind of person that can sleep almost anywhere, at anytime.  Once I even fell asleep about 20 feet away from an outdoor stage when Finger Eleven was playing at Edgefest (July 1, 2002)  but that wasn’t stress related, but simply the product of staying up to the wee hours of the morning with friends, booze and a delightful campfire in Hawkstone, Ontario.

2) Crying: Mike hates this Stress Buster because he thinks I’m trying to get sympathy with him if I cry during a fight.  Honestly I’m not since I have never been able to make myself cry on command.  It’s simply my bodies way of relieving the built up tension, anger, sadness, frustration, and occasional mini-psychosis that all hormonal women have from time to time….but ask any woman and they will say that after a good cry, they feel much better.

3) Cleaning: yup, when I’m mad I clean.  But oddly enough, 90% of the cleaning I do is in the kitchen more than any other room.

and finally…

4) Food: Yup, I’m a stress eater….sometimes.  I don’t do it that often, and I don’t have one particular food that I seek as my relief.  Mike tends to head towards Salty snacks over sweet ones most of the time.  Chips and dip, popcorn, Crispy Mini Rice Cakes.  I however, then to mix it up a little more.  Yesterday I indulged in a delicious piece of Carrot cake from Williams Coffee Pub and today I’m chowing down on …..

Fudgee-O

…Yup, it’s Fudgee-O’s!  The best of the cookie O’s.  Only thing wrong with this cookie is that it’s not a Double Stuf….

So my friends, and various other readers, here’s to us all, and here’s hoping that the Stress will soon be gone.

Leave a Reply

