6 days, 23 hours, 15 minutes

Published March 25, 2011 by S

That is how long I will remain an employee of Russel Metals.  As of 5pm next Friday (April 1, 2011) I will be a free agent again.

Thinking about this today has made me feel so many different things.  I’m happy and sad all at the same time.  I’m excited, yet scared.  Calm and then anxious!  It really is a mini-roller coaster of emotion.

Will I miss my job?  Absolutely!  I love what I do.  Working in Production planning (or a cutter as I am known, but which sounds really bad to outsiders!  lol) is actually fun for me.  The BS that I get from some of the sales people isn’t fun, but most of my job is like working on puzzles, so that’s right up my alley.

Will I miss the people? Absolutely!  Well, most of them anyways.  I have been working in that office since July of 2005.  I have worked with so many great people.  I think that every single person in that office (past and present) has taught me so many things.  I just wish that some of those things had an application outside of the the steel industry! I have made some great friends, and no doubt will lose contact with them when i no longer see them 45 hours a week.  That’s just the way it is.  But the ones that matter will still be there, even if mostly through Facebook.

Will I miss the location?  Not at Freaking All!  That office is terrible!  It’s a pretty old building with a pretty bad air system.  I’m not the only one that suffers inside that building.  The heating system is pretty darn strange in that it’s never the same temperature in any part of the building, and you either boil or freeze on a regular basis. There are always several people with colds or other forms of sickness simply due to the air quality.  But hey…..we got rid of the Mouse problem!  LoL

All in all, Russel Metals is a good company to work for.  I have been treated very well by them, and if the plant wasn’t closing I’m sure I could have happily worked for them for many years, but I’m looking at this closure as my chance to make some important life changes. 

I want to be there for my family more than I have been, and I will be doing another surrogacy this spring. I’m finally going to go back to school, and I’m going to enjoy every daylight minute that I’m not locked into a corporate commitment!

So let my countdown begin!

Leave a Reply

