Life: the Update

Published April 19, 2011 by S

A lot appantly!  =)

I haven’t written in a couple of weeks. It’s not for lack of wanting to, but some days I couldn’t think of anything intereting and other days, I simply didn’t want to post unless it was something positive.  No, I’m not feeling down on myself, or being overly mean in any one direction, but I have been feeling overwhelmed with the idea of the upcoming move and by how much I work I have ahead of me.  Add to that that we still didn’t know when Mike would officially be starting his new job, and you have one stressed little Momma!

But things have started to sort themselves out the last few days. Mikes Aunt found me someone to deal with our pile of scrap metal (aka the broken pool), Mike has plans to deal with our living/dining room floor next week, and I’m hoping to enlist my Mother to help get the painting started over the long weekend, if she EVER answers her darn phone that is…*sigh*

So things are starting to fall into place.  I have a lot of sorting and boxing up to do, and we have planned a garage sale for about 10 days from now as well.  It sounds like a lot, but I’m good with that as long as I have a plan in place for it all.

Now on to other news…

This weekend I was lucky enough to be invited to an amazing wedding.  I want to wish my good friend Brian and his beautiful wife Robyn all the love, luck, and happiness in the world!  I was so happy to be able to share in their wonderful day, and also to enjoy their AMAZING hospitality!  (Ha ha!)  The bar was open, the food was delicious and the quantities unbelievable!  I was able to get reaquainted with some old friends, and meet a few new interesting people as well…and I have to say, from now on I wish that ALL weddings will serve Shots (yes Shots!) in the receiving line!

Congratulations Brian and Robyn!

So after an amazing evening celebrating with the newlyweds, we headed up to Mike’s parents place for the night since they had the kids with them.  Sunday we woke to a little bit of snow (Ugh!) and got ready for our drive to Toronto.

 
We spent a great family day in Toronto visiting friends.  We had plans to visit with our new friends, who also happen to be the Intended Parents for my next surrogacy. Even though I have been talking/writing to them since last summer, that was the first chance that Mike had to actually meet them face to face.  I think it was all fantastic!  C and Y (the intended fathers) are two amazing men, and I was glad we were able to see each other again.  Haylee and Jack took to them both, and made themselves right at home  =)  A very good sign indeed!
 
After a delicious lunch with C and Y, and a trip to the Green Living show at Exhibition Place, it was off to visit Bruce and Ange for dinner.  We try to see them whenever we are in Toronto.  Our lives are always so busy and it’s been harder the last couple of years since they moved to see them often.  It was a nice relaxing evening with more good food, and good friends. 
 
How did I get so lucky in my friends? I really have no clue!
 
Then it was back to Mikes parents again for some sleep before our early morning appointment with a local Real Estate agent to see 7 (yes 7!) houses in St. Mary’s before heading home again at Noon. A couple of the houses were just real Duds, but there was one that was almost perfect!  Only problem is that now I’m having 2nd thoughts about being outside of London.  Mike says he is ok with a minimal commute from out of town, but I’m worried that living in a small town in a place where I don’t know anyone might actually be a very bad idea.  It’s not that I can’t make friends, but I feel that it would be better for my sanity to be a lot closer to amenities and more people to make the adjustment  easier.
 
So we have contacted another agent in London (recommended by Brian and Sue) who is going to see what she can come up with for us. 
 
So that’s it…lots of renovations to be done in the next 2 weeks.  and then Mike will be gone as of May 2nd, since he starts work on the 3rd. He will be living with his parents until we buy a house, and will only be home on his days off for the next few months.  It’s going to be…shall we say interesting?  More like lonely, but when you look at the bigger picture it’s definately worth it.
 
I’m going to include a couple more pictures from the wedding.  I’m proud of my new dress and my handsome Husband!

Me and Mike (no clue what he was looking at)

 

My Fab last minute Find

Leave a Reply

