Long time no blog…

Published October 24, 2011 by S

I hate that I haven’t sat down and written in weeks now. It’s not that I have a big-headed complex that makes me think I have thousands of disappointed readers that I’ve been letting down, but writing has become my strange little outlet, and darn it I missed it!

So what’s been going on? Well, on the surface not to much, but good times have been had. My last attempt at IVF failed, so amongst all the appointments getting ready for our next (and 3rd) attempt, I’ve just been trying to spend time with my family.

Mike started his new job and had a lot to deal with setting up a brand new store and then preparing for their 2 day Grand Opening event but we still found time to take the kids to an apple farm (pictures to be added later since I’m not writing from my own PC today) and yesterday we paid a visit to my Nana, who as always was delighted to see my offspring.

Haylee has lost another tooth which brings us to 3 teeth. The top front 2 have been stubborn with us for awhile and frustrating the heck out of her, so the other night Mike helped her out and pulled the damn thing out! Needless to say the end result is a gap in my daughters smile, and a spread of many bloody tissues left all over the kids bathroom. The toothfairy was quite generous with her money, and Haylee has now added $2.50 to her piggy bank.

Jack continues to be Jack. Potty training is turning into a very frustrating affair. Everyone has their own ideas and opinions about how we should be doing things, but the problem is that 1) He’s OUR kid, and 2) he simply does not care about whether he walks around in a wet diaper (or even wet underwear when we thought to just go cold turkey on the diapers and pull-ups).

We’ve done rewards, we’ve tried charts and bribes, but so far, not a whole lot of success.

Haylee is back at Karate and we’re hoping to see her advance again soon. She loves going, but we are still playing “catch up” with her learning her Kata’s which is something her old Sensei didn’t do with the younger groups. But this dojo runs classes daily, and Kata specific classes several times a week so with enough effort from all of us, she will be caught up in no time now!

As for me and my usual inner workings: I’ve been in a strange state of mind the last few weeks. I’m not sure if its the fact that I have been put on hormones for my IVF and then taken off them several times or maybe the fact that they add a new drug with each attempt, but my brain has travelled a gauntlet of emotions and thoughts. In all liklihood I’m still adjusting to our moving as well, although I am used to the city, I’m still quite lonely here. There are days when I simply have no energy, and others where I have to much energy but the circumstances are not quite right to accomplish some things on my list…which in this case have involved things like outdoor trips with Jack which keep getting rained out, or shopping trips that don’t happen to get him a new snowsuit because he is the crankiest bugger that day…but really there is only so much you can control with a 3 year old boy.

But needless to say I love my family and they are awesome.

So I’m not to sure what I had in mind when I started this post, and I think I’ve traveled quite far away from any resemblance of sanity and clear headed writing, but that’s pretty much a perfect example of what I’ve been like lately.

I’ve also had some insomnia which has allowed me to catch up on some ridiculous TV shows over that wonderful Netflix thing. In 5 days I watched all 4 seasons of Californication (only season 1 is there, but I obtained 2-4 else where once I discovered I liked it) and I”m just about done watching My name is Earl…I feel like I should apologize for that, but I like Jason Lee, and the show is pretty much a guaranteed  cheap laugh in every episode.

So now I leave you my friends with this thought…I’m about to go and drink 1 litre of water, change into a flimsy and ugly hospital gown and get ready to be poked and prodded internally by a man in a mask in or the hopes of conceiving a beautiful baby or 2 for some really deserving men.

In the surrogacy community we ask people to send us Baby dust or Sticky thoughts…so I’ll ask you (since your braved my post and made it this far) to do the same.
Love, Sara

Leave a Reply

